Bola Egunjobi

My WordPress.com Weblog

  • Me on Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Kenny G – 10,000 Hours – Malcolm Gladwell

Posted by Bola Egunjobi on April 21, 2009

I enjoyed seeing saxophonist Kenny G on the BBC Breakfast News yesterday morning. Indeed the 15 second piece he did from his new album is still ringing in my ears. Kenny G’s music remains as beautiful as ever. He’s got a UK tour coming up this summer.

Kenny G mentioned Malcolm Gladwell‘s Outliers book during the BBC Breakfast News interview. One of the many concepts Gladwell touches upon in this wonderful book is the idea that it takes 10,000 hours to become a master in any field of endeavour. Kenny G reckon’s he has put in over 20,000 hours of saxophone playing so far.

I first heard of Malcolm Gladwell, and the 10,000 hours’ rule, when actor Will Smith was on the BBC Breakfast  News sofa on 15th January. Will commented that he has put in over 10,000 hours of acting.

I researched Malcolm Gladwell extensively as a result of the Will Smith interview, and ended up buying and reading all 3 of his books to-date. I liked the books so much that I got one of my brothers to buy Tipping Point (the first book) and then lent him my copy of Outliers. And I also bought & read Annette Lareau’s “Unequal Childhoods: Class, Race and Family Life” on the strength of the mention in the Outliers’ book, and ended up buying copies of Lareau’s book for my two sisters-in-law.

Every once in a while, you chance upon something really interesting and it takes you on a journey of great intrigue. This has been such a journey for me.

Leave a Reply

 
