Bola Egunjobi

My WordPress.com Weblog

Happy Birthday

Posted by Bola Egunjobi on October 14, 2009

It’s 9:43

As I sat down to work this morning I listened to my voicemails. The first was from my mum, left at 4.30am. That’s quite early, I thought, even if she is calling to wish me a happy birthday.

She sang “Happy Birthday” down the line, just like I had tried to do in my unmelodic voice on her birthday a couple of months ago. Hearing her sing brought a warm glow to my heart and a smile to my face.

Then she dropped the other news: my sister has had her baby. It’s a boy, and he shares my birthday!

I couldn’t help it, tears welled up in my eyes. I had wanted it to happen, but in a way that you want something without imposing your own wishes on other people – like it would be a nice thing to happen. I had sent the email message to my brothers last night: “OMG my new nephews going to share my birthday!”  Because the dates were so close. I picked up my mobile to call her husband, and there was his text message from 1.49am confirming the news.

That’s how my day’s started. How will it progress?

Leave a Reply

 
